Saturday proved to be a winning day with all teams having excellent wins.

Top division continued on its undefeated way with a sound win against Woodside at Hahndorf.  Phil Nagel’s rink had a battle with Steve Baker all day but moved ahead to get home by six shots.  Rick Babidge’s rink jumped out to a valuable lead in the first six ends only to get pegged back by Peter Mangelsdorf’s rink to draw level at 20 all late in the day.  Babidge steadied and won by three shots.  Bob Edward’s rink was slow to start and trailed by as much as ten shots however they turned to tide after the break and with one end to play levelled at 20 all.   A two to Shane Harris got the Woodside rink home.

The team sits in second place on the premiership ladder and travel to Mt Pleasant next week.

Second Division also had a win against Woodside by eight shots.  Ray Rattray’s rink had a battle with Woodside’s Annette Forbes with the scores close together all day.  Rattray finally winning by three shots.  Bill Roberston’s rink struggled early but improved after the break to close the gap against Ron Parry, going down by twelve shots.  Con Harmer was never headed, improving as the game progressed to win by seventeen shots over Stephen Keogh.

The win moved the team into fourth place and they also travel to Mt Pleasant next week.

Third Division travelled to Mt Pleasant and got home by the narrow margin of two shots.  New skippers, Adam Button and David Grego, in his first year of pennant bowls, continued on their winning ways by eleven and one shots respectively.  Tom Hennessey battled hard all day being close at the break but could not sustain the pressure over the final ends.

Next week the team meets second placed Mt Barker No 1 at Hahndorf.

Rink of the week went to Bob Edwards, Ray Rattray, Michael Wheal and Richard Crocker with their eighteen shot win on Wednesday.  Another one shot win this week!!

Results were:

Division One
Hahndorf defeated  Woodside at Hahndorf                              75 – 68
R Babidge, S Maddern, M Howe, G Evans                                   29 – 26
R Edwards, R Mableson, M Wheal, R Crocker                             20 – 22
P Nagel, C Button, C Rowe, T Anderson                                      26 – 20

Hahndorf defeated Woodside at Hahndorf                               71 – 63
C Harmer, A McMahon, T Button, B Buckingham                         32 – 15
R Rattray, V Deeble, D Bateman, J Thompson                             22 – 19
W Robertson, R Bateman, P Williams, B Engel                            17 – 29

Division Three
Hahndorf defeated Mt Pleasant at Mt Pleasant                        53 – 51
T Hennessey, R Munday, C Thompson, D Turner                        15 – 25
A Button, M Armitage, P Grego, J Benham                                  19 –  8
D Grego, P Wakefield, S Engel, J Liebelt                                     19 – 18