Division Three Good Win

Div 2: Woodside turns the tables

On a sunny afternoon at Woodside, the home team came out the winner scoring 69 to Hahndorf’s 55 shots, and thus exacted some degree of revenge for their 8 shot loss when last at Hahndorf green in October last year.

Con Harmer’s rink had the toughest battle against the four of top-ranked Div 2 skipper Ron Parry.  Con, also at the higher end of the skipper rankings, had a modest lead after eleven, however the Parry juggernaut won all but one of the remaining ends to win by 14 shots.

After a vigorous start, and leading by 8 shots after six ends, Shelly Howe’s rink lost all but three of the next fourteen to be down 13-19 after twenty ends. Shelly’s crew fought back, winning three of the last five ends only to lose by 4 shots to Brian Johnson’s rink.

Bill Robertson’s rink was slow out of the blocks but gained momentum to lead their opposition 13-7 after twelve ends. This success continued ‘til the seventeenth (score 18-10) when Annette Forbes’ four responded with some precision play to progressively narrow the lead. Hahndorf hung on to win 22-18. Bill later acknowledged a few lucky wicks!

Hahndorf now fills the seventh position on the Div 2 premiership ladder but is looking to climb a few rungs after their meeting with Mt Pleasant at home next Saturday.

Results were:

Division One
Hahndorf lost to Woodside at Woodside                               62 – 83
R Babidge, S Maddern, A Gluyas, L Lambert                            24 – 27
R Edwards, R Mableson, R Rattray, R Crocker                         28 – 19
P Nagel, C Button, C Rowe, T Anderson                                   10 – 27

Division Two
Hahndorf lost to Woodside at Woodside                              55 – 69
C Harmer, M Wheal, A Proeve, B Buckingham                         15 – 29
S Howe, A McMahon, T Button, B Engel                                  18 – 22
W Robertson, R Bateman, P Williams, D Bateman                  22 – 18

Division Three
Hahndorf defeated Mt Pleasant at Hahndorf                         75 – 52
P Wakefield, T Hennessey, S Engel, J Benham                        18 – 23
D Grego, R Munday, D Thyer, P Grego                                     22 – 15
A Button, M Armitage, D Turner, J Liebelt                                 36 – 14