Division One still undefeated

Hahndorf teams travelled to Mt Pleasant with both divisions having either a narrow win or loss.

Division One finally got home by four shots but not without a fright.  Scores at the break had Hahndorf in front by two shots with Phil Nagel holding a six shot lead whilst Rick Babidge and Bob Edwards were each two shots down.  Phil Nagel continued to hold sway against Luke West and finished eight shots up.  Scores varied within a few shots for the remainder of the day for both Babidge and Edwards finally remaining two shots down against Mt Pleasant’s Chad Vivian and John Webb.

The win maintained Hahndorf’s unbeaten run and next week meets the other unbeaten team Mt Barker at Hahndorf.

Division Two – Similar stories to be told with the team one shot astray at the break only to go down by four shots at the end.  Hahndorf’s Con Harmer’s rink started well and after six ends led 12 – 3 only to see Mt Pleasant’s Barry Gifford’s rink get within two shots at the break and from there scores were level on a number of occasions.  Late in the afternoon Harmer steadied and got home by three shots.  Ray Rattray’s rink also started well and led by four shots at the break. Scores were level at 22 all with one end to play.  Two shots to Mt Pleasant’s Grant Noblet won the day.

Bill Robertson was in all sorts of strife being seven shots down at the turn.  He fell further behind early however drew within one shot with one end to play.  Four shots to Graeme Sloan of Mt Pleasant ended the day. The team still sits in fourth place and meets top side Mt Barker at home next week.

Division Three – A depleted third division took on Mt Barker No 1 side with the help of two Lobethal bowlers.  Young Heysen Comet bowler Matthew Armitage, playing in his first game as skipper, gave Hahndorf its only win defeating David Skelton by four shots.  Tom Hennessey and Tali Button had difficult games against solid opposition from Mt Barker’s Darren Ardlie and Kevin Fort respectively.

Next week they meet Mt Barker’s No 2 side at Mt Barker.

Results were:

Division One
Hahndorf defeated Mt Pleasant at Mt Pleasant              69 – 65
R Babidge, S Maddern, A Gluyas, S Howe                        23 – 25
R Edwards, R Mableson, M Wheal, R Crocker                  19 – 21
P Nagel, C Button, C Rowe, T Anderson                           27 – 19

Hahndorf lost to Mt Pleasant at Mt Pleasant                  75 – 79
C Harmer, A McMahon, G Evans, B Buckingham               25 – 22
R Rattray, V Deeble, D Bateman, R Mundy                         27 – 29
W Robertson, R Bateman, P Williams, B Engel                   23 – 28

Division Three
Hahndorf lost to Mt Barker No 1 at Hahndorf                  51 – 76
T Hennessey, M Trubee, xxxx, P Grego                              19 – 34
M Armitage, S Engel, xxxxxx, J Liebelt                                21 – 17
T Button, P Wakefield, S Palmer, J Benham                        11 – 25