Div 1 Back in Four

Division 1

Hahndorf had a good win in Division 1 bowls defeating top four aspirant Uraidla 66 shots to 56.  With 2 rinks up a valuable 12 premiership points were earnt to propel the Club into the top four.  Hahndorf now needs to defeat the other top four contender Gumeracha next Saturday to secure its place in the finals.

Rick Babidge’s rink with Leo Lambert, Alby Gluyas and Sue Maddern had a good win 22 to 16.  The game was won when the team scored 10 shots over 5 ends from the 5th to 9th ends to go to a 9 shot lead. They were able to hang on to this 9 shots lead at the 21st end and ended up comfortable winners by 6 shots.

Bob Edwards rink with Richard Crocker, Shelly Howe and Roger Mableson  had a close game but lost 20 to 22 shots.  Losing 6 shots on the first 2 ends did not help but the team got back into the game thereafter.  If not for the opposing skip saving multiple shots on a number of ends, Edwards could have easily won.  It was good bowls from the opposition which saw Uraidla home by 2 shots.

Phil Nagel’s rink with Tim Anderson, Chris Rowe and Chris Button was the other good winner scoring 24 shots to 18.  Nagel got off to a good start to lead by 7 shots at the 7th end.  The scores were level at the 13th end but then the team put on the pressure to score 10 shots over the next 7 ends to open up a gap of 7 shots. They were able to cruise to victory from that point.

Results were:

Div 1: Hahndorf (6) defeated Uraidla (4) at Hahndorf         66 – 56
P Nagel, C Button, C Rowe, T Anderson                                24 – 18
R Edwards, R Mableson, S Howe, R Crocker                         20 – 22
R Babidge, S Maddern, A Gluyas, L Lambert                         22 – 16

Div 2: Hahndorf (5) lost to Uraidla (7) at Hahndorf             60 – 72
C Harmer, M Wheal, C Thompson, M Trubee                         26 – 22
W Robertson, V Deeble, R Munday, B Engel                          16 – 26
G Evans, R Bateman, J Thompson, B Buckingham                18 – 24

Div 3: Hahndorf (10) lost to Lenswood (11) at Lenswood   47 – 68
T Hennessey, P Williams, P Grego, D Turner                           18 – 24
D Grego, P Wakefield, D Thyer, J Benham                               14 – 23
A McMahon, S Engel, M Armitage, J Liebelt                             15 – 21